Owaka Museum is a popular palace of memories, similar to walking through a 3D storybook. Tales of Maori settlements, shipwrecks and pioneer settlers is a true reflection of The Catlin's rich history. The museum is also known as “Wahi Kahuika: The Meeting Place – A Rest on Your Journey”.
Just beyond the Balclutha Bridge this museum has extensive collections on display of domestic and industrial heritage reflecting 150 years of pioneer endeavor on the fertile plains and river deltas of South Otago.
Address: 1 Renfrew St, Balclutha 9230
Phone: 64 3 418 2382
Admission is free. Donations welcome.
The museum has a diverse range of items including vintage tractors, a steam engine, and a display of many household goods and collection of historical information from the district from the West Otago area. Open weekends from 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Otago's first gold-rush town was Lawrence. During the height of the goldrush the town's population was around 11,500; which was double that of Dunedin at the time. Here are some of the key sites:
Coal was first mined in Kaitangata back in 1869, coal was then taken through to Dunedin by rail. In 1879 there was a significant explosion at the mine in which it killed 34 miners. The last underground coal mine closed in 1970.