Tides Getting Here Clutha Attractions

Clutha District has a range of education options, making sure all our children get off to a great start with early learning, primary and secondary schools. All our schools have quality teaching staff and facilities.

At tertiary level, Southern Institute of Technology's Telford Campus offers practical training in agriculture, rural veterinary technician, equine, and apiculture. 

Businesses in the district offer apprenticeships in a variety of industries. Tokomairiro Training specialises in opportunities for theory-based and practical-based learning for youth aged 16-18 years as well as adults.

Primary Schools

Clutha District is home to 22 primary schools, including full primary, contributing and composite options.

Full Primary (Years 1-8)

Balclutha School
Clinton School
Clutha Valley School
Kaitangata Primary School
Romahapa School
Rosebank Primary (Balclutha)
St Joseph's School (Balclutha)
Stirling School
Tahakopa School
Taieri Beach School (Brighton)
Waihola District School
Waiwera South School
Warepa School

Contributing Schools (Year 1-6)

Heriot School 
Milton School 
St Mary's School (Milton)
Tapanui School 
Tokoiti School (Milton)
Waikoikoi School 
Waitahuna School 

Composite Schools (Year 1-13)

Lawrence Area School
The Catlins Area School (Owaka)

Secondary Schools

We have five secondary schools in the Clutha District which includes both composite and secondary education.

Blue Mountain College Year 7-13 (Tapanui)
Tokomairiro High School Year 7-13 (Milton)
South Otago High School Year 9-13 (Balclutha)

Composite Schools (Year 1-13)

Lawrence Area School
The Catlins Area School (Owaka)